Wisconsin Gun Charges: Frequently Asked Questions
Our founding attorney, Aaron A. Nelson, is a member of the U.S. Concealed Carry Association (USCCA), and our team has extensive experience in defending the rights and freedom of people facing misdemeanor and felony gun charges in Wisconsin.
If you have been accused of a weapons offense, we encourage you to call us in Hudson at 715-226-3186 for a free initial discussion regarding your specific case. We are a Wisconsin criminal defense firm representing clients statewide.
Following are some questions we often hear in gun crime cases:
When is a gun “concealed” in Wisconsin?
Generally, in Wisconsin, it is illegal to conceal a gun on your person or in your vehicle if you do not have a valid concealed carry permit. What technically constitutes “concealed” may be a matter for further investigation in a weapons crime case.
Your gun is generally considered to be concealed if it is not visible to others around you. For example, the gun may be concealed if it is inside a backpack, a purse or the center console or glove box of your vehicle. A prosecutor may also claim that your gun is concealed if the bottom of your shirt covers the weapon, or if the gun is on the passenger seat of your car or elsewhere in the vehicle and out of plain sight. Also, if you are transporting a handgun, the law requires that the gun be encased and not simply placed on a seat or in the glove box. Our team can investigate your specific case and determine an appropriate strategy for defending you against the charge.
Is it illegal to carry a concealed gun in a bar in Wisconsin?
In most cases, it is illegal to carry a concealed gun in a bar in Wisconsin, particularly if you consume even a sip of alcohol. You might even have a concealed carry permit, but you are not allowed to drink alcohol and carry a concealed weapon in a bar at the same time. Wisconsin law also prohibits people from carrying a concealed gun in a bar if the bar displays signage that says weapons are prohibited.
However, there are exceptions for military members, corrections officers and bar owners or employees if the owner or employee has proper licensing.
Whatever the facts of your case may be, if you have been charged with intoxicated firearm possession, you should consult with us before talking to anyone else about your case. We can help you explore your defense options.
How long does a gun charge remain on a person’s record?
Unfortunately, even if you are not convicted, a gun charge could stay on your record for the rest of your life. That means you should contact us as soon as possible if you have been accused of a gun offense, and we can get to work right away to minimize the negative consequences of the charge. What you should NOT DO is simply let the prosecution go unchallenged. Nelson Defense Group is here to protect your Second Amendment rights, and we do not back down.
What are the penalties for possession of a firearm by a felon?
The possible penalties for possession of a firearm by a felon will depend on the individual facts of the case, but in general, a conviction carries a potential sentence of 10 years in prison and/or a fine of $25,000. The penalties could be less, depending on the facts. In any case, you need to speak with a gun crime defense lawyer as soon as possible if you are facing a charge of possession of a firearm by a felon.
Nelson Defense Group has a long record of obtaining not guilty verdicts and getting serious criminal charges reduced or dismissed. We want to help you, too.
Contact Nelson Defense Group Today
Nelson Defense Group is here to defend you against the power of government. For a free initial discussion, please call 715-226-3186 or complete our contact form. We are located in Hudson, Wisconsin, and represent clients statewide.